The Chicago 5-0 Awards

The Chicago Police Department presented awards to officers have exhibited exceptional performance for its Monthly Departmental Commendation Ceremony today.

Superintendant Jody P. Weis awarded 257 officers at Chicago Police Headquarters on South Michigan Avenue, all of whom “have distinguished themselves and the Chicago Police Department by their courageous deeds and praiseworthy accomplishments.”

Among these courageous deeds and praiseworthy accomplishments include notable ones that have helped bring justice to the victims involved and put the perpetuators behind bars.

Awards for said notable deeds went out to police officers Timothy J. Adams, Jason C. Cloherty, Stephen K. Gregory, Kimberly M. Oppedisano and Police Sergeant Richard W. Unizycki. Through their investigative efforts, the group was able to locate an armed robber of a retail store and fast food restaurant and charge the offender with two counts of Armed Robbery.

Another notable deed went recognized for the work of Director Brett J. Goldstein and Cook County Sheriff’s Police Officer Leone Ugarte. Both men successfully located an armed man in a shoot-and-run pursuit in Pilsen and were able to charge him with First Degree Murder after the offender gunned down his victim.

Last but not least, the Superintendent honored officers Jesus Delarosa, Jr., Joseph B. Foley, Ricardo Gonzalez, George M. Nichols, Abel Orozco, Mark E. Wesselhoff, and Police Sergeant Terence P. Forbes. The group was able, through diligent observation and quick action, to arrest two gang members who were armed in the West Side’s 15th District.