A big day for Northwestern’s Womens Lacrosse


June 4 – Evanston’s City Council honored the Northwestern University Women’s Lacrosse team for winning its seventh NCAA national championship and recognized the day as Women’s Lacrosse National Champions Day.

Several players were on hand to accept the honor on behalf of the team, including defenders Alex Frank and Christy Turner.  Frank credited the coaching staff and the team’s veteran corps in leading the team to an unprecedented seventh title. Frank, a second team All-American, said that she was very happy with the support that Evanston has showed to her and her teammates.

This was the Wildcats’ seventh national championship in eight years, which is a stunning achievement for a program that has only existed as a Division I varsity team since 2002.  This year’s championship win was particularly poignant because it came at the expense of Syracuse University’s iconic lacrosse program.  Turner noted that the Wildcats had studied and were prepared for Syracuse’s aggressive play and offensive threats.

Evanston’s Mayor Tisdahl observed that NU Women’s Lacrosse has won the most NCAA Division I titles of any athletic program in the state.

The city will erect a sign to recognize the day and the seven NCAA national titles won by NU’s women’s lacrosse team.